After months of campaigning, the 2022 election cycle finally came to a close, with election day on November 8th. After some election day controversy and a few days of ballot counting, most races were called early last week. Arizona will face a divided government in the new year, with Secretary of State Katie Hobbs defeating Kari Lake for the Governorship and the Republicans maintaining slim majorities in both chambers of the Legislature.

In other down-ballot races at the state level, Adrian Fontes will be the next Secretary of State. Kris Mayes won a very tight race for Attorney General, and Kimberly Yee easily cruised to another term as State Treasurer. Tom Horne will again be Superintendent of Public Instruction after defeating incumbent Kathy Hoffman. Finally, Republicans Kevin Thompson and Nick Myers took the two Corporation Commission seats up for grabs this cycle.

At the federal level, Senator Mark Kelly won reelection over challenger Blake Masters, and the Republicans gained two congressional pickups, with Eli Carne defeating Tom O’Halleran in CD 2 and Juan Ciscomani winning the CD 6 race. Incumbent Representatives David Schweikert, Ruben Gallego, Greg Stanton, Andy Biggs, Raul Grijalva, Debbie Lesko, and Paul Gosar all won their races and will keep their seats.

The Chamber congratulates all the winning candidates. We look forward to working with them in their varying offices to help keep Arizona and Greater Phoenix Region on the economic fast track.


Posted by Annelise Patterson